Posts

Danny Collins (Christopher Plummer / Al Pacino) | Anatomy of a Movie

AOM hosts Marisa Serafini, Alison Dean, Sara Stretton and John Comerford discuss Danny Collins. Danny Collins is a 2015 American comedy-drama film written and directed by Dan Fogelman in his feature directorial debut. Inspired by the true story of folk singer Steve Tilston, the film stars Al Pacino, Annette Bening, Jennifer Garner, Bobby Cannavale and Christopher Plummer. The movie is about how aging 1970s rocker Danny Collins (Al Pacino) cannot give up his hard-living ways. But when his manager Frank Grubman (Christopher Plummer) uncovers a 40-year-old undelivered letter written to him by John Lennon, he decides to change course, and embarks on a heartfelt journey to rediscover his family, find true love and begin a second act.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day (Steve Carell, Jennifer Garner) | Anatomy of a Movie

In this AOM show, hosts Marisa Serafini, Roxy Striar, Sara Stretton, and Demetri Panos discuss Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day which is a 2014 Family Comedy feature film by Miguel Arteta. Alexander’s day begins with gum stuck in his hair, followed by more calamities. Though he finds little sympathy from his family and begins to wonder if bad things only happen to him, his mom, dad, brother, and sister all find themselves living through their own terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. RESOURCE LINKS: IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1698641/?ref_=nv_sr_1 Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_and_the_Terrible,_Horrible,_No_Good,_Very_Bad_Day Search: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=alexander+and+the+terrible+horrible+no+good+very+bad+day Cinematographhy: https://www.google.com/search?q=alexander+and+the+terrible+horrible+no+good+very+bad+day+cinematography+&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&channel=sb Miguel Arteta Interview: http://collider.com/miguel-arteta-alexander-and-the-terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-day/ Full Story: http://sharepoint2.whancock.org:8889/elizabethgretillat/speech/Shared%20Documents/ALEXANDER%20AND%20THE%20TERRIBLE.pdf

Draft Day | Anatomy of a Movie

In this show, AOM hosts Phil Svitek, John Comerford, Sara Stretton, and Demetri Panos discuss the 2014 Draft Day film. Draft Day is a sports comedy-drama film directed by Ivan Reitman and starring Kevin Costner. At the NFL Draft, general manager Sonny Weaver has the opportunity to rebuild his team when he trades for the number one pick. He must decide what he’s willing to sacrifice on a life-changing day for a few hundred young men with NFL dreams. The hosts discuss everything from filmography, to casting/acting, directing, cinematography, editing, score, sound editing, etc. HELPFUL LINKS: IMDB – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2223990/ Wikipedia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Draft_Day New York Jets Passed on Film Article – http://nfl.si.com/2014/04/14/new-york-jets-draft-day-kevin-costner/ Draft Day Trailer – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpvInmz-EJM Yahoo Movies Description – https://movies.yahoo.com/movie/draft-day-2014/ Movie Insider – http://www.movieinsider.com/m10414/draft-day/ Rotten Tomatoes Movie Review – http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/draft_day/ ComingSoon Movie Breakdown – http://www.comingsoon.net/films.php?id=91847 Hollywood Reporter: Kevin Costner’s 2014 Flop – http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/kevin-costners-second-2014-flop-695732 Chiefs Make Cameo in Film Article – http://www.kansascity.com/2014/04/15/4961282/chiefs-make-cameo-in-draft-day.html Box Office Weekend Report – http://screenrant.com/rio-2-oculus-draft-day-box-office/ Rope of Silicon Movie Review – http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/draft-day-2014-movie-review/ Film School Rejects Movie Review – http://filmschoolrejects.com/reviews/draft-day-review.php Article about Realistic of Movie – http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/index.ssf/2014/04/canzano_the_movie_draft_day_di.html Business Week’s Movies Not About Athletes – http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2014-04-15/in-sports-movies-athletes-are-no-longer-the-star Follow Us on Twitter @ http://twitter.com/movieanatomy Like Us on http://Facebook.com/AnatomyOfAMovie

Dallas Buyers Club | Anatomy of a Movie

In this show, AOM hosts discuss the 2013 film Dallas Buyers Club, a biographical drama film directed by Jean-Marc Vallee. In 1985 Dallas, electrician and hustler Ron Woodroof works around the system to help AIDS patients get the medication they need after he is himself diagnosed with the disease. The hosts discuss everything from filmography, to casting/acting, directing, cinematography, editing, score, sound editing, etc. HELPFUL LINKS: IMDB – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0790636/ Wiki Page – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dallas_Buyers_Club LA Times on SAG Awards – http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/envelope/goldstandard/la-et-mn-dallas-buyers-club-sag-20131218,0,3918938.story#axzz2oHot0vMN Jared Leto on Playing Transgender – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/12/17/jared-leto-transgender-role_n_4460986.html Trailers – http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/focus_features/dallasbuyersclub/ Variety Articles Relating to Dallas Buyers Club – http://variety.com/t/dallas-buyers-club/ Daily Beast’s Article on the True Story – http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/11/03/the-true-story-behind-dallas-buyers-club-meet-the-real-ron-woodruff.html